In the spring after the purchase of the Kirby estate, an unknown photographer took a walk up the road to document the sights. These photographs are from a photo collection dated May 10th, 1938, in the Kirby binder at the Richfield Historical Society Museum.
The Cleveland Plain Dealer posted a small news article on July 24, 1938
" 120 Girl Scouts Seek Fun at West Richfield Camp"
The second session of Camp Julia Crowell at West Richfield is underway. ONe hundred and twenty campers have been divided according to age, school grade, and camping experience into the following units: Orchard Way, Beachcliff, Fernwood, Glencairn, Hickory Hill, Windy Hill, and Innisfree.
Although the majority of campers come from Cleveland, other cities, including Wadsworth, Oak Harbor, Youngstown, and Canton , are represented.
Today at 7:30 pm the campers are having a "Scouts Own Program". The program is under the direction of Mary Jane Jesse. One feature will be musical selections by a quintet made up of Dr. Jerome Gross, Irving Frank, Fred Rosenberg, Irving Klein, and Harold Fink, guests of the Girl Scouts for the day.